Janine Schmidt, judging panel chair said, ‘‘The award submissions showed an impressive array of innovative, creative and forward-thinking designs of new and refurbished libraries. Each of the winning, and commended, libraries represents some of the best architectural design in Australia. Each library prioritised user needs established through consultation, and created spaces which are inspiring, beautiful, fit for purpose and loved by their communities." 

undefinedMarrickville Library and Pavilion
Marrickville Library and Pavilion

The winners and commended entries are:

School Libraries

  • Winner: Ormiston College Centre for Learning & Innovation, QLD
  • Highly Commended: Monmia Primary School Library, VIC

Special Libraries

  • Highly Commended: Jerzy Toeplitz Library (Australian Film, Television and Radio School), NSW

Academic Libraries

  • Winner: UTS Library, NSW
  • Highly Commended: QUT Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct, QLD
  • Highly Commended: St Benedict’s Library, University of Notre Dame Australia, NSW

Public Libraries

  • Winner: Marrickville Library and Pavilion, NSW
  • Highly Commended: Green Square Library, NSW
  • Highly Commended: Karalee Library Pod, QLD
  • Highly Commended: Ruth Faulkner Library, WA
  • Commended: Payinthi – Prospect Public Library, SA
  • Commended: Salisbury Community Hub Library, SA
  • Commended: Wentworth Point Community Centre and Library, NSW

National Exemplar Award

  • Winner: State Library Victoria, VIC

Members’ Choice Award

  • Winner: Marrickville Library and Pavilion, NSW

The Australian Library Design Awards 2021 were sponsored by Architecture AU, Raeco, and the State Library of Queensland. ALIA will be running the awards again in 2022-2023.